Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: can any web gurus help?
OpenSourcePhoto > World Wide Web > Website Stuff
Bellissima
we should have bought common misspellings of our biz url, but we didn't get to some.

it was recently brought to my attention that www.belissimaphoto.com (not my site) is owned by someone else.

when i went to check it out, it appears to be a wedding website, but it's fake.

and the thing that bugs me is the names of the 'weddings' are right from my site! the links don't really go anywhere.

anyone know what the deal is?
JAC
Really?? That's terrible.
I wonder if people just don't have anything better to do?

If it makes you feel better, www.jenniferimages.com used to be a porn site!
Mine is www.jenniferimages.ca .
Thank goodness that site went under!

Brady
QUOTE(Bellissima @ February 23 2007, 03:00 PM) [snapback]84865[/snapback]
anyone know what the deal is?

They are monetizing type in traffic.

Each of those links is an ad or a gateway to ads and the owner of that site is paid every time someone clicks on that ad.

The pages are not usually indexed by Google so the only real way for someone to hit that up is by typing it in.
Bellissima
any idea how my b&g names are showing up on this site?
the names are unusual and identical to my b&g's. i don't want to type them here. the names of the couples are my couples. they appear to be lifted right off my latest work page.

what should i do?

nothing?

does it even matter?
Bellissima
thanks guys!
i'm not sure what i should do.

i don't have time to worry about that now, i guess.
Aaron Pelly
Based on what I've seen on these types of sites before when I accidentally typed in the wrong address...

I think the reason the bride and groom's names are showing up is guests at those weddings were going to check out the proofs. They couldn't remember your web address/didn't have the card, and typed in the wrong address. They landed on that web site, were confused but saw the search bar, and typed in the name of the bride and groom from the wedding they attended. The site lists the most popular searches that have been performed. This also explains why your most recent weddings are showing up there.

Only a guess, but it makes sense - I think.

Sorry if this doesn't help as to what you should do.
Jillian Kay
this is kind of like the web site version of spam. they buy domain names in bulk, and the pages are automatically generated with content from similarly named sites. they most likely got the content through a computer program that simply read the links and text on your site. the only thing you could do to prevent it use no text, LOL.

they just want bulk traffic for ad money, they don't actually offer anything to society. but there's not much you can do about it. (that i know of)
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.