Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Scam Game
OpenSourcePhoto > Who We Are :-) > Fun Stuff!
Adam Pek
Scam game.
Today I have received E-mail

“Hello,
My name is kenny jones ,im from london,united kingdom. I will be coming over to michigan after my shopping trip with my wife mary who is also english by nature to start my new work with the Coca-cola Co. in laingsburgu And just before then we will be getting married on the march 15 2007. We need a good wedding photographer to take care of our wedding event photography both reception and ceremony. We require the best for the best memories of photography for our children in future and as a matter of fact we have made a good budget for the best of photography on our wedding day. Also, the event will be taking place in 2 locations that is from the reception to the ceremony location. We are expecting at most 60 guests on the day of our occassion because most of our families in Europe and in the United Kingdom will be present for the occassion. Also, we would like you to know the reception and ceremony will be taking place @ laingsburg michigan
and here's what we desire as per photography, you could arrange a customized package for us based on it;
Wedding Day Photography (includes 6 hrs of coverage)
Album (5 pages 10 sides, 10"x10" about 20 Photographs)
Engagement Session or Post Wedding Session
1 Parent Album (10- 5X7) (these can be coffee table albums instead)
High Resolution CD of all the Images and all negatives on Dvd. and other optional items. Please let me know if you are available on this date and also if you're willing to help. Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanks,

kenny “


I think my English is still worst than that. biggrin.gif


The scam:

Someone will contact you claiming to be interested in your services. They will be out of state,country or continent. He/she will act as they are willing to spend a lot of money. They will begin negotiation like they care to spend as little as possible “We require the best for the best memories of photography for our children in future and as a matter of fact we have made a good budget for the best of photography on our wedding day.” 51.gif Caution flag! How many times did you have a client that tells you that he wants to spend allot money and tells you that at front?
As soon you tell him that you require a deposit he will tell you that he will send you a cashiers check for a down payment plus some extra money he would like you to transfer to other accounts – flower guy, and the cake guy. Account numbers will be included. Just a little favor since you will be making so much money thanks to him “Album (5 pages 10 sides, 10"x10" about 20 Photographs)” w00t.gif
As soon you will receive his cashier check you will deposit money to mention accounts for flower guy and cake guy. Five days later you find out that the check was fake. OOOPSS!!

I have traced his IP

Prospect was from IP Address: 82.128.10.111
Time of Day: 1/11/07 3:01:10 PM Central Time

Then I have traced the IP origin


inetnum: 82.128.0.0 - 82.128.127.255
org: ORG-AFNC1-RIPE
netname: AFRINIC-NET-TRANSFERRED-20050223
descr: This network has been transferred to AFRINIC
remarks: These IP addresses are assigned in the AFRINIC region.
remarks: Authoritative registration information for this network
remarks: is available for query and modification in
remarks: the AFRINIC whois database: whois.afrinic.net or
remarks: web site: http://www.afrinic.net
remarks: The routing registry information (route(6) objects)
remarks: may be published in any Routing Registry, including
remarks: RIPE Whois Database
country: EU # country is really somewhere in African Region
admin-c: AFRI-RIPE
tech-c: AFRI-RIPE
status: ALLOCATED PA
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
mnt-routes: RIPE-NCC-RPSL-MNT
changed: **********@ripe.net 20050223
source: RIPE

organisation: ORG-AFNC1-RIPE
org-name: African Internet Numbers Registry
org-type: RIR
address: see http://www.afrinic.net
e-mail: *********@ripe.net
admin-c: AFRI-RIPE
tech-c: AFRI-RIPE
remarks: For more information on AFRINIC assigned blocks, use
remarks: AFRINIC's whois database, whois.afrinic.net.
mnt-ref: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
changed: *********@ripe.net 20050223
source: RIPE

role: The African Internet Numbers Registry
org: ORG-AFNC1-RIPE
address: AFRINIC, see http://www.afrinic.net
admin-c: AFRI-RIPE
tech-c: AFRI-RIPE
nic-hdl: AFRI-RIPE
e-mail: *********@ripe.net
remarks: For more information on AFRINIC assigned blocks, connect
remarks: to AFRINIC's whois database, whois.afrinic.net.
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-MNT
changed: **********@ripe.net 20050223
source: RIPE

if you don't wonna analize the info the E-mail was send from Nigeria.

Just for your entertainment I decided to play the game and see how far I can go with it.
What can I say! - off season - I am bored.

Here is my respond

Thank you for interest in Adam Pek Photography.
Currently I am available for March 15 2007 Thursday.
All the prices are available to download on my website.
Albums can not have less than 10 pages.

My regards Adam Pek

E- mail: contact@adampek.com

I didn't want scare him so I decided to be professional.

Hopefully story will continue.


Ps: I forgot about the "Happy Thanksgiving!" part today is 01/10/07
Mark Miller
Go get em Adam.

Have you seen this site http://www.419eater.com/ is set up by a group of scam busters.

Good hunting.
Adam Pek
Kenny just responded

here is the email

hi

thanks for your positive response, pls i want you to give me the price package i requested for.so that i will be able to deposte for you in other to keep the date booked and reserved,pls get back to me as soon as possible so that i can know your opinion .

kenny
danwatkins
Don't forget to ask for the specifics about (minor details) like...

bride's name
church address
officiant's name and contact info
arrival time
whether or not they are seeing each other beforehand
reception address

See how much bull-poop you can get this guy to make up in order to reel in his "fish." tongue.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.