Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A scam?
OpenSourcePhoto > Who We Are :-) > We lived!
JAC
I received an email today that adressed me by my full name (including my middle name).
I do have many recurring bills, but I have not changed my credit card info recently.
Also, I assume most places would phone me if there were a problem with my financial information.
I tried going to the website and entering the recurring order number plus my postal code, and the system couldn't find me.
So...I'm pretty sure this is a scam. I have no idea who 2checkout.com is.
I wanted to post it though, incase anyone here knows who they are (and if they are legit), and to warn everyone else, because if this is a scam, it's a good one.

Anyone seen this before?




JAC (they had my full name here) We recently tried to rebill your recurring order 1961721716.
However, your bank declined the transaction for the following reason:

Authorization Failed

You can lookup the details of this order athttps://www2.2checkout.com/2co/customer_order

To have these charges post to a different card (or update your expiration date, etc.),please enter your new billing information here: https://www2.2checkout.com/2co/admin/change...sale=1961721716
Or call us for assistance updating your information:

1-877-294-0273 Toll-free in U.S. & Canada
1-614-921-2450 International Callers
0871-871-8283 Local from UK & Northern Ireland
Thank you,

2Checkout.com

Contact us at: https://www.2checkout.com/contact_b.htm
the real tami
oh please tell me you didnt enter any information?


*Troy*
don't touch it...

wait to see what you don't get in the mail that you're paying for.

Then call whoever sold it to you and give them your credit card to take care of it.
JAC
QUOTE(the real tami @ June 29 2008, 05:30 AM) *
oh please tell me you didnt enter any information?
No, I didn't. I figured they could call me, if it were legit.
QUOTE(Troy Hill @ June 29 2008, 05:32 AM) *
don't touch it...wait to see what you don't get in the mail that you're paying for.Then call whoever sold it to you and give them your credit card to take care of it.
This was my plan, but then I thought, Oooh...I hope it's not for my online galleries. I'd hate to loose them.I'm pretty certain it's a scam, but I can't believe they had my full name, including my middle name!
Aytch
2checkout.com is a scam. They billed me and I never heard of them. I had my bank reverse the transaction and block them.
Jillian Kay
2checkout.com is a legit business....i used to pay for my old webhost through them (and when the old web host suddenly disappeared, they were very nice in helping me stop the payments) here's the description on wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2Checkout.com

now, that doesn't mean that someone isn't phishing them (ie, pretending to be them in order to gain your trust and get your information....common scam)


i still wouldn't enter any information....go to 2checkout.com (don't click links, just type it in) and see their contact information (i found 1.877.294.0273). call, and just ask about the order number to find out what merchant your information is on file for.

if there's no order number like that, then it was a scam. otherwise, they should be able to clear up the situation.
JAC
QUOTE(Jillian Kay @ June 29 2008, 09:51 AM) *
2checkout.com is a legit business....i used to pay for my old webhost through them (and when the old web host suddenly disappeared, they were very nice in helping me stop the payments) here's the description on wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2Checkout.com

now, that doesn't mean that someone isn't phishing them (ie, pretending to be them in order to gain your trust and get your information....common scam)


i still wouldn't enter any information....go to 2checkout.com (don't click links, just type it in) and see their contact information (i found 1.877.294.0273). call, and just ask about the order number to find out what merchant your information is on file for.

if there's no order number like that, then it was a scam. otherwise, they should be able to clear up the situation.


You guys are awesome. Thank you. I did think 2checkout.com was legit, but you're right. They likely are phishing them. I get ebay scams like that all the time.
I will call them on Monday just to be sure.

Thanks you guys.

If this is a scam, it's a good one.
Tara.
QUOTE(JAC @ June 29 2008, 12:05 PM) *
You guys are awesome. Thank you. I did think 2checkout.com was legit, but you're right. They likely are phishing them. I get ebay scams like that all the time.
I will call them on Monday just to be sure.

Thanks you guys.

If this is a scam, it's a good one.




I had some what of a same experience. I USED to have a pay pal account. But I canceled it. But I continue to get emails stating that someone is phishing my account and has changed my password.. and that I need to immediately verify ALL of my banking info, home address, etc. The first time that happened I freaked.. but then realized.. that it was canceled. I ignored it and nothing ever happened. That doesn't mean I didn't check my bank account like every hour for 2 weeks straight.. haha. I still get them.. but I just delete them.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.