Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 5D for $1573
OpenSourcePhoto > New Stuff! > Bargains and Sales
sbshy
I just got emailed this deal for Canon 5D for $1573 from digicombos.com with free shipping.

http://www.digicombos.com/camera-shop/item...era-Body/1.html
Candy
QUOTE(Melody @ May 27 2008, 12:40 PM) *

+1 not very good reviews!
Candy
Melody
QUOTE(Candy @ May 27 2008, 01:43 PM) *
+1 not very good reviews!
Candy


Check out the good reviews they do have... hilarious, all the same misused punctuaton and thanking Joel. Cracks me up that thier good/fake feedback is soooooo obviously fake wink.gif
Phil P
lol i was waiting for someone to pull up resellerratings, I knew for 1573 that it would have to be from a shady dealer.

$1900 is the going price for a new 5d, we just need to accept that, even if it hurts the wallet! lol
Chris Humphreys
QUOTE(Melody @ May 27 2008, 10:44 AM) *
Check out the good reviews they do have... hilarious, all the same misused punctuaton and thanking Joel. Cracks me up that thier good/fake feedback is soooooo obviously fake wink.gif


So funny!
MeeksDigital
can we just have this thread deleted so no one gets screwed by clicking that link and actually purchasing one of these? kthxbye
sbshy
damn it! i just got the dreaded email...."you need to call us to confirm your order". sorry guys, i got this deal emailed to me from camera town - which usually sends out good stuff.ok, wait, maybe not...i just called and they didnt try to sell me anything else and they just wanted to verify the shipping address. i'll keep you guys posted and let you know if i receive a black market camera or anything lol.
EricM
I love this site. Drives the point home better than reseller ratings can. Here's a picture of their storefront. Do you *really* want to send money here?

http://donwiss.com/pictures/brooklynstores/h0181.htm





Just for a little contrast, here's B&H:



Take your pick.


Eric
MeeksDigital
QUOTE(sbshy @ May 27 2008, 02:13 PM) *
damn it! i just got the dreaded email...."you need to call us to confirm your order". sorry guys, i got this deal emailed to me from camera town - which usually sends out good stuff.ok, wait, maybe not...i just called and they didnt try to sell me anything else and they just wanted to verify the shipping address. i'll keep you guys posted and let you know if i receive a black market camera or anything lol.

so you went ahead and bought it from them despite the bad reviews on resellerratings and all of the warnings from people here? Nice....

Sorry, there will be no pity if you get screwed on this deal...
sbshy
QUOTE(MeeksDigital @ May 27 2008, 09:13 PM) *
so you went ahead and bought it from them despite the bad reviews on resellerratings and all of the warnings from people here? Nice....

Sorry, there will be no pity if you get screwed on this deal...


Nice attitude! I actually made the post AFTER i made the purchase.
Laurie
QUOTE(EricM @ May 27 2008, 06:14 PM) *
I love this site. Drives the point home better than reseller ratings can. Here's a picture of their storefront. Do you *really* want to send money here?

http://donwiss.com/pictures/brooklynstores/h0181.htm





Just for a little contrast, here's B&H:



Take your pick.


Eric


I haven't been to B&H, so I haven't seen it. I have however sent them lots of money....that picture of their storefront made me draw my breath in quick in excitement. Thanks for posting the picture...nice to have a mental image of who I'm dealing with.

Laurie
MeeksDigital
QUOTE(Laurie @ May 28 2008, 07:08 AM) *
I haven't been to B&H, so I haven't seen it. I have however sent them lots of money....that picture of their storefront made me draw my breath in quick in excitement. Thanks for posting the picture...nice to have a mental image of who I'm dealing with.

Laurie



There's a reason they can afford that building.... They have something like a 9-9.5 out of 10 rating on resellerratings.com. I buy from no one but b&h... Well.... Except for beach camera and calumet now and then.
Maruf
Worst case you end up with the Japan version, from a Japan based company. No big deal. You won't get the US warranty so you'll have to either pay for repairs or ship it overseas. Canon USA may do the repair, don't know, but you'll have to pay for it.

So you took a chance, saving the money upfront and hope you don't have any issues. How long is the US warranty good for anyway? 1 Year? You'll want the Mark II in a year anyway smile.gif

For some people its worth the risk, for others it isn't. I wouldn't have done it, but it may work out. Don't be too upset if you don't get a US warranty though, because like I said, its only good for the first year anyway, and bodies have limited shelf lives as it is. If you have to put in for a repair, you'll lose what you saved on the initial cost, depending on the nature of the repair. A lens on the other hand sticks around for much longer, so I wouldn't play games with something like that, but bodies, whatever, you'll be fine.

And a 6 isn't the worst rating you can get. The real scammers have less than 1. As long as it comes with a battery you're doing alright.

All this being said isn't an endorsement. I only buy from B&H. But don't beat yourself up too much if you don't get the US warranty and they won't let you return it.
BDphotographer
I dont think I would order from them either. I got totally burned on an Ebay thing once, and I will only buy from stores like B&H and Calumet, etc. Good luck! Let us know how it all turns out!
D*m*n
QUOTE(Laurie @ May 28 2008, 10:08 AM) *
I haven't been to B&H, so I haven't seen it. I have however sent them lots of money....that picture of their storefront made me draw my breath in quick in excitement. Thanks for posting the picture...nice to have a mental image of who I'm dealing with.

Laurie

B&H is an amazing operation to see. Last time we were in NY we stopped in to purchase some stuff. It's crazy to see boxes flying above you on different rolling tracks.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.